

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

> Brussels, 5.7.2024 C(2024) 4781 final

# **COMMISSION DECISION**

# of 5.7.2024

on instructing the central administrator of the Union Registry to enter the national aviation allocation tables for 2024 and 2025 into the Union Registry

# **COMMISSION DECISION**

## of 5.7.2024

### on instructing the central administrator of the Union Registry to enter the national aviation allocation tables for 2024 and 2025 into the Union Registry

### THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Commission Regulation (EU) 2019/1122 of 12 March 2019 supplementing Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council as regards the functioning of the Union Registry<sup>1</sup>, and in particular Article 49 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Directive (EU) 2023/958 of the European Parliament and of the Council<sup>2</sup> amended Directive  $2003/87/EC^3$  and changed the method of allocation of allowances for aviation in the years 2024 and 2025.
- (2) In accordance with Article 3c of Directive 2003/87/EC, the Commission determined the total number of allowances to be allocated in respect of aircraft operators and published it in Commission Decision (EU) 2024/1797<sup>4</sup>. The Commission also determined the quantity of free allocation which would have taken place in 2024 under the rules for free allocation in force prior to the amendments introduced by Directive (EU) 2023/958.
- (3) Accordingly, it is necessary to calculate the allocation of free allowances to aircraft operators according to the rules laid down in Article 3d of Directive 2003/87/EC. These rules require that free allowances should be allocated to aircraft operators proportionately to their share of verified emissions from aviation activities reported for 2023. Therefore, aircraft operators, that according to Eurocontrol data had emissions covered by the EU ETS in 2023, were taken into account in the calculation, even if this data was not yet available in the Union Registry at the time of adoption of this Decision. Emissions data available on 31 May 2024 was used for this purpose.
- (4) Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden notified the national aviation allocation tables to the Commission.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 177, 2.7.2019, p. 3.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Directive (EU) 2023/958 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 10 May 2023, amending Directive 2003/87/EC as regards aviation's contribution to the Union's economy-wide emission reduction target and the appropriate implementation of a global market-based measure (OJ L 130, 16.5.2023, p. 115), ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/reg/2023/958/oj.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 October 2003 establishing a scheme for greenhouse gas emission allowance trading within the Community and amending Council Directive 96/61/EC (OJ L 275, 25.10.2003, p. 32), ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dir/2003/87/oj.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Commission Decision (EU) 2024/1797 of 27 June 2024 amending Decision (EU) 2023/2440 as regards the adjustment of the quantity of allowances and the transfer of allowances to the Innovation Fund (OJ L, 2024/1797, 28.6.2024, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dec/2024/1797/oj).

(5) The Commission considers that the national aviation allocation tables notified by Member States are in accordance with Article 28a of Directive 2003/87/EC. The central administrator should therefore be instructed to upload the national aviation allocation tables in the Union Registry,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

### Sole Article

The central administrator shall enter the national aviation allocation tables of Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden for 2024 and 2025, as set out in the Annex, in the Union Registry.

Done at Brussels, 5.7.2024

For the Commission Wopke HOEKSTRA Member of the Commission